our-indian-adventure

Direktlänk till inlägg 11 november 2013

It alredy feels a bit better

Av Filippa - 11 november 2013 07:00

Today we where at out volunteering again. I was really trying to se te positive things that the sisters and the mazis where doing. There are many things even though the negatives are so much easier to notice. The main thing is tha theese children are alive, they LIVE. Only that is a big thing. Without the missionaries of charity this children wouldn't have been. They live and honestly, the most children are smiling.

When the sisters put volonteers at Daya Dan they say that it is importan that there are only volunteers who have planed to tay for a month or longer. The sisters are aware of the childrens need of consistency. Almost every child at Daya Dan suffers from autism. But you can't say that they are treated as autism chldren. There are notes on the walls with the childrens names and all of their needs and "no needs".

They write for example :
Hi my name is Manu, I am 9 years old and i have autism. When you are taking care of me, pleas do not carry me arround, as I just learned to walk and it is good for me to practise. I am of diaper but i need to be reminded to go t the bathroom. If i wet my self, pleas dont scream at me, just change my clothes.

When i am happy I use to do clicking sounds, pleas learn me other easy ways of comunicating by repeating easy sounds. I love to be kissed on the chin, you will se when I ask you for one.

theese notes are writen with so much care and it makes me happy to read them. It say what the kids likes to do, what they don't like. What they need to practise and what they can manage on their own.

It felt good to find theese papers as the day yesterday really made me wonder what i can do here.




 

Från
    Kom ihåg mig
URL

Säkerhetskod
   Spamskydd  

Kommentar

Av Filippa - 13 november 2013 10:00

Volunteer work at Missionaries of Charity At the 10 of November we started to do volunteer work at Missionaries of Charity. Two of us chose to do volunteer work at Nirmal Hriday also called Kalighat home, a home for sick and dying people organized...

Av Filippa - 12 november 2013 07:45

Yesterday after the volunteering we went home and took a nap. After that we went of to Kothare medical center which is a non governmental hospital, a private practise. We where supposed to se if their would be a posibility for us to get in contact wi...

Av Filippa - 10 november 2013 23:15

I will unfortunately have to say that they didnt make much of a good first impression. I am in a bit of a chock and when we left I was about to cry! How can people treat children like this. These children have lived lifes that have caused them more d...

Av Filippa - 9 november 2013 23:15

As I told you it didn't really work out as we planned when we spoke to the sisters at mother Teresa yesterday. They freaked out about our letter of consent and they will under no surcumstances give us any intervjues. They booked us in for a meeting t...

Av Filippa - 8 november 2013 23:00

When we had got home and left our bags in the appartment we immediately left to enlist our self at the missionaries of charity. We arrived there way to early o we sat down by Mother Teresas tomb and watched allot of people come and go. Some sat next ...

Presentation

The 7th of november our trip starts and we will never be the same again. Our understanding och empathy will grow as the tme goes bye. And we hope yours will too. Follow us in our voloteer journey and chair our experiences.

Fråga mig

0 besvarade frågor

Kalender

Ti On To Fr
       
1
2
3
4
5
6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
<<< November 2013
>>>

Sök i bloggen

Senaste inläggen

Kategorier

Arkiv

RSS

Besöksstatistik


Ovido - Quiz & Flashcards